Lifetime Membership Award

The Lifetime Membership Award is the highest award that NASFAA can bestow on one of its members or an individual who is affiliated with a member organization. In order to be eligible to receive this award, the individual must first be employed or have been employed by a member institution, be an affiliate member, be employed by a constituent or associated member organization, or be a student member.

In as much as this award is the highest that NASFAA can bestow on a member, the achievements and contributions of the individual must truly be outstanding and significant. Normally, the individual will have made these contributions and achievements over a sustained period of time. That is to say, this award is not typically made for a one-time achievement or effort, but for working over a sustained period of time for the Association and the profession in important capacities, and contributing significantly to NASFAA's success in meeting its goals.

The nomination process is now closed. The 2015 winners will be announced at the 2015 NASFAA National Conference in New Orleans, LA.

Lifetime Membership Award Winners

In 2014 the Lifetime Membership Award was presented to Karen Fooks. Karen retired in 2010 as Director of Student Financial Services from University of Florida after 38 years of service to students. She was involved in the profession on state, regional, and national levels, including a deep involvement in NASFAA. Karen has contributed to NASFAA by serving on the Board of Directors, the Financial Affairs Committee, Association Governance, the Reauthorization Task Force, and the Membership Dues Task Force. She has also assisted in Negotiated Rulemaking, as a NASFAA trainer and as part of the Federal Aid Programs Response Network.

View the past winners list, available in PDF format.