Allan W. Purdy Distinguished Service Award

The Allan W. Purdy Distinguished Service Award is one of the highest awards that NASFAA bestows and may be awarded either for significant contributions in the furtherance of NASFAA's goals over a sustained period of time OR for a single contribution of such momentous importance as to deserve the award.

An award recipient may come from the financial aid, political, educational, business, or other community. In addition to any selection(s) made from nominations for the Allan W. Purdy Distinguished Service Award, the association normally recognizes the significant and sustained contributions of the NASFAA Chair with this award at the end of the Chair's term.

The nomination process is now closed. The 2015 winners will be announced at the 2015 NASFAA National Conference in New Orleans, LA.

2013-14 Allan W. Purdy Distinguished Service Award Winners

There were five recipients of the Allan W. Purdy Distinguished Service Awards in 2014.

Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Sen. Lamar Alexander Receives Allan W. Purdy Award 2014During his outstanding service as the Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions, Senator Alexander has sponsored legislation to support the student aid programs that make it possible for millions of Americans to obtain a postsecondary education. His vision and leadership helped secure passage of the Bipartisan Student Loan Certainty Act of 2013, which ensures continued stability in the federal student loan programs. He is spearheading a movement to simplify student aid for students and reduce burden for schools. As former Secretary of Education and a hardworking member of the U.S. Senate from Tennessee since 2002, he is a tireless advocate for low- and middle-income students.

Rep George Miller (D-CA)
Rep. George MillerDuring his illustrious four-decade career in Congress, including his many years as the Chairman of the House Committee on Education and Labor, Congressman Miller authored legislation to support the student aid programs and make it possible for millions of Americans to access a postsecondary education. His vision and leadership have helped strengthen the long-term funding structure of the student aid programs, particularly the Pell Grant Program. A member of Congress from California since 1975, he has been a steadfast supporter of affordable education for children of all economic backgrounds.

Dr. Martha Kanter
Dr. Martha Kanter Receives Allan W. Purdy AwardIn her role as Under Secretary of Education at the U.S. Department of Education from 2009-2013, Dr. Kanter oversaw policies, programs, and activities related to postsecondary education, adult and career-technical education, and federal student aid. She also helped oversee one of the largest federal student aid initiatives to date, the conversion to the Direct Loan Program. Prior to her tenure at the U.S. Department of Education, Kanter served as chancellor of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District in California, and as president of De Anza College in Cupertino, Calif. She has long been a valued friend of the financial aid community.

Dr. David Mohning
Dr. David Mohning Receives Allan W. Purdy Award With more than four decades of service to students, Mohning officially retired this year as Executive Director of Financial Aid and Assistant Professor at Vanderbilt University. He has served NASFAA on the Board of Directors and on just about every committee possible, as either chair or member. Mohning has won NASFAA's Leadership and Special Service Awards as well as multiple awards from state associations and other groups.

Craig Munier 
Craig Munier Receives Allan W. Purdy AwardCraig Munier, 2013-14 NASFAA National Chair and Director of the Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid at University of Nebraska-Lincoln, has volunteered his time to NASFAA's Board of Directors and shared his expertise with colleagues across the nation. During his tenure as chair, he has convened multiple policy task forces — including ones on Consumer Information, Program Integrity, Public Service Loan Forgiveness, and Professional Ethics — and has served as a strong voice for all students, particularly those from disadvantaged backgrounds. His contributions to NASFAA, the financial aid community, and to students have been invaluable. 

Also see the past winners list, available in PDF format.